Why Artsmark is right for your school

Ovingham Middle School

Artsmark – the award for schools, has been designed by schools for schools. Artsmark protects and supports arts in education settings, helping to unlock the potential of children and young people, to develop character and talent, and increase knowledge and understanding.

Culture Bridge North East is delighted to be working in partnership with The Forge to deliver our Artsmark programme.

To register your interest visit It’s £500 to join Artsmark (or £250 for schools with fewer than 100 pupils) and that includes the Development Day induction training for two members of staff and ongoing support from The Forge and Culture Bridge North East.

Once you have registered, The Forge will be in touch with you to attend one of our free Artsmark development days.

Artsmark development days

Upcoming dates:

  • 21 November - The Customs House, South Shields
  • 6 December - BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead
  • 23 January - Great North Museum: Hancock, Newcastle
  • 14 March - The Sage Gateshead

To book your place please contact The Forge by email or call 01207 284515.

10 reasons...

...why becoming part of Artsmark can help your school; Artsmark:

  1. Helps ensure all children receive high quality, inspirational, child centred experiences
  2. Aligns itself to your school development plan and strategically tackles whole school objectives
  3. Helps your school monitor and evaluate your whole school SMSC provision
  4. Helps audit current provision to identify areas for development
  5. Proactively encourages and rewards effective networking and the sharing of good practice
  6. Ensures that your school offers a rich, balanced and culturally diverse curriculum
  7. Supports successful and sustainable relationships with the creative industries
  8. Opens up new CPD opportunities for your staff
  9. Provides support for your school throughout
  10. Will help raise your school’s profile.

Ruth Robinson, Durham Sixth Form Centre explains: “When I expressed an interest in reapplying for Artsmark I was asked, ‘Is it worth it?’ And, ‘Have you got time?’ The answers are yes absolutely, and, if you don’t have time you should make it! Artsmark has re-invigorated practice, helped us to re-group and remember why it is so vital to continue to inspire young people through the arts and culture at the same time as supporting our whole school vision.”

Artsmark Celebration Week 2017

At the culmination of Artsmark Celebration Week 2017, 16 North East schools achieved their Artsmarks, and we were delighted to have worked with a number of guest bloggers to highlight the difference Artsmark has made in their schools.

First up, Tracy Hutchinson of the Dales School in Northumberland, talked about how Artsmark can be used with children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND). Read more...

Secondly, Richardson Dees Primary School is new to Artsmark, having been awarded Silver following its first application. Teacher Emma Lynch found being involved in Artsmark a positive experience, providing evidence of how a school is meeting its social, moral, cultural and spiritual requirements for Ofsted. Read more...

Next up, Ruth Brown, Head of Creative Arts Faculty at The Duchess’s Community High School (DCHS) in Northumberland, talked about how Artsmark and Arts Award can be used together, culminating in more worldly, rounded, empathic and culturally aware young people. Read more...

And finally, Clive Maddison, Headteacher at Ravenswood Primary School in Newcastle, explained how Artsmark has been a catalyst to their music programme's transformative effect for pupils, staff and parents alike. Read more...